Skip to content

Hot Chocolate, Anyone?

Tonight, as I watched the snowflakes begin to fall here in New York City, I thought it was the perfect time to whip up a quick hot chocolate.  Stay warm, everyone!

Hot Chocolate

Adapted from Joy of Baking

Serves 2

Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients

2 cups milk (I used skim, and drizzled a little half and half in there for good measure, but just using all skim will still be perfectly tasty)
4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, chopped (or chocolate chips)
small pinch of chili powder, cinnamon, and/or (smallest pinch) cayenne pepper (all optional, but I use all three)
1-2 drops vanilla extract (optional)

Place milk, chocolate, chili powder, cayenne (if using) and vanilla extract in a saucepan over medium heat and whisk periodically until mixture just reaches the simmering point.  Remove from heat, and pour into two mugs.  Garnish with marshmallows or whipped cream.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. kg #

    Yum

    January 11, 2011
  2. Mmm, sounds yummy! :) Never made hot chocolate from scratch, but it sounds not too hard!

    January 11, 2012
  3. Wow, I love that this is so simple. It’s practically as easy as using the packaged stuff, but I’m sure it tastes 100x better.

    January 11, 2012
  4. I agree, so much better than the powdered stuff! Thanks for sharing with us.

    January 11, 2012
  5. I always make mine from cocoa powder, but I bet this is much better. Thanks for sharing!

    January 11, 2012
  6. Hot Chocolate is my favorite way to pass the day in the winter.

    January 12, 2012
  7. I could definitely use a mug full of this right now =)

    January 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 309 other followers

